

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 20, 2020 (3) [English]

Pursuant to the order of the Senate of April 11, 2020, the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day by videoconference at 11:32 a.m. [ET], the chair, the Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Black (Ontario), Dasko, Forest-Niesing, Griffin, Kutcher, Mégie, Moodie, Munson, Omidvar, Petitclerc, Poirier and Seidman (12).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators LaBoucane-Benson, Miville-Dechêne and Pate (3).

Participating in the meeting: Keli Hogan and Joëlle Nadeau, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Laura Munn-Rivard and Sonya Norris, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Ben Silverman, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee continued its study on the government's response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Medical Association:

Dr. Sandy Buchman, President.

Canadian Nurses Association:

Dr. Claire Betker, President.

Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada:

Dr. Cornelia Wieman, President.

Society of Rural Physicians of Canada:

Dr. Margaret Tromp, President.

Canadian Pharmacists Association:

Dr. Barry Power, Senior Director, Digital Content;

Dr. Shelita Dattani, Director, Practice Development and Knowledge Translation.

Paramedic Association of Canada:

Pierre Poirier, Executive Director.

The chair made a statement.

Dr. Buchman, Dr. Betler and Dr. Wieman made statements and answered questions.

At 1:37 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:31 p.m., the committee resumed.

Dr. Tromp, Dr. Shelita and Mr. Poirier made statements and, together with Dr. Power, answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

ATTEST:

Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee