Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chair: The Honourable LANDON PEARSON

Tuesday, April 22, 1997

Issue No. 5

Second meeting on: Bill S-12, An Act providing for self-government by the first nations of Canada


From Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

George DaPont, Director General, Government Relations.

From the Department of Justice:

Wendy Reid, Senior Counsel.


The Honourable Landon Pearson, Chair

The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Anderson, Beaudoin, Bryden, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Johnson, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Marchand, P.C., Milne, Taylor, Tkachuk, Twinn

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes to the membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Bryden substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Watt (April 22, 1997).