Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996-97

Chair: The Honourable MABEL M. DeWARE

Tuesday, January 28, 1997

Issue No. 18

Seventh and eighth meetings on: Bill C-41, An Act to amend the Divorce Act, the Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act, the Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act and the Canada Shipping Act.


From the Saskatchewan Department of Justice:

Betty Ann Pottruff, Q.C., Co-Chair of Federal-Provincial Task Force on Implementing Guidelines.

From Revenue Canada:

Denis Lefebvre, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Legislation Branch.

From the Ottawa Association of Family Mediators:

Connie Renshaw, Family Mediator.

From the Catholic Women's League of Canada:

Jakki Jeffs, President, Hamilton Diocesan Centre.

From the Canadian Bar Association:

Joan Bercovitch, Senior Director, Legal and Governmental Affairs;

Miriam Grassby, Chair, Committee on Child Support Guidelines;

Steven Andrew, Past-Chair, National Family Law Section.

From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Jocelyn Francoeur, Director, Security, Policy and Entitlement, Passport Office;

Evans Gérard, Legal Counsel.

From Queen's University:

Professor Nicholas Bala, Faculty of Law.

The Hon. Ken R. Halvorson, Retired Queen's Bench Justice


The Honourable Mabel M. DeWare, Chair

The Honourable Peter Bosa, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Bonnell, Cohen, Cools, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Forest, Jessiman, Lavoie-Roux, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton, Maheu, Pearson, Phillips

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in Membership of the Committee

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Perrault substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Landry (January 24, 1997).

The name of the Honourable Senator Maheu substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perrault (January 27, 1997).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pearson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Haidasz (January 27, 1997).