Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chair: The Honourable JACK AUSTIN, P.C.

Tuesday, February 22, 2000
Wednesday, February 23, 2000

Issue No. 4

Second and third meetings on:

Bill C-9, An Act to give effect to the Nisga'a Final Agreement


Tuesday, February 22, 2000:

From Nisga'a Tribal Council:

Dr. Joseph Gosnell Sr., President;

Edmond Wright, Secretary Treasurer;

Nelson Leeson, Executive Chairperson;

Harry Nyce Sr., Senior Resources Negotiator;

James Aldridge, Legal Counsel.

Wednesday, February 23, 2000:

From the Liberal Party of British Columbia:

Michael de Jong, MLA.

From the Fraser Institute:

Gordon Gibson, Senior Fellow, Canadian Studies.

From the British Columbia Treaty Commission:

Miles Richardson, Chief Commissioner.

From the University of Ottawa:

Bradford Morse, Faculty of Law.

From the Gitxsan Nation:

Charlotte Sullivan;

Elmer Derrick;

Earl Muldon;

Art Wilson;

Barbara Clifton.


The Honourable Jack Austin, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Chalifoux, Christensen, DeWare, Gill, Johnson, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Pearson, Sibbeston, Tkachuk, Watt

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)