Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Monday, June 13, 2005

Issue No. 16

Fourteenth and fifteenth meetings on:

The rights and freedoms of children


(Morning Meeting)

Office of the Child and Youth Advocate:

Jim Igloliorte, Interim Child and Youth Advocate;

Marilyn McCormack, Deputy Advocate;

Roxanne Pottle, Advocacy Education Officer;

Paule Burt, Advocacy Assessment Officer.

Futures in Newfoundland and Labrador's Youth (FINALY):

Jay McGrath, Chairperson, Provincial Youth;

Chelsea Howard, Provincial Youth Council.

Charles J. Andrew Youth Treatment Centre:

Kristin Sellon, Executive Director.

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Department of Health and Community Services:

Lynn Vivian-Book, Assistant Deputy Minister.

Department of Justice:

Mary Mandville, Civil Solicitor.

Child, Youth and Family Services:

Ivy Burt, Provincial Director.

(Afternoon Meeting)

Center for Excellence for Youth Engagement:

Florian Bizindavyi, coordinator.

Roundtable of children and youth:

Megan Fitzgerald;

Ryan Stratton;

Rachel Gardiner;

Shireen Marzouk.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Landon Pearson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Baker, P.C., Carstairs, P.C., Ferretti Barth, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), LeBreton, Losier-Cool, Oliver, Poy

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)