Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Tuesday, June 14, 2005

Issue No. 17

Sixteenth and seventeenth meetings on:

The rights and freedoms of children


(Morning Meeting)

Office of the Ombudsman of New Brunswick:

Bernard Richard, Ombudsman for New Brunswick;

David Kuttner, Law student;

Cynthia Kirkby, Law student

Centre for Research on Youth at Risk:

Susan Reid, Director and Associate Professor, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, St. Thomas University.

(Afternoon Meeting)

Center of Excellence for Youth Engagement:

Florian Bizindavyi, coordinator.

Roundtable of children and youth:

Ryan Bresson;

Erin Bowlen;

Katie Cook;

Matt Cavanaugh;

Joelle LaFargue;

Matt Long;

Possesom Paul;

Jessica Richards;

Emma Strople.

Partners for Youth:

Leah Levac, Program Manager and Coordinator of the New Brunswick Youth Action Network.

Government of New Brunswick:

Department of Family and Community Services:

Bill MacKenzie, Director Policy and Federal/Provincial Relations.

Department of Public Safety:

Ian Walsh, Senior Policy Advisor;

Jay Clifford, Manager Policy and Planning.

Department of Education:

Inga Boehler, Assistant Director of Policy and Planning.

Department of Justice:

Mike Comeau, Director of Policy and Planning.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Landon Pearson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Baker, P.C., Carstairs, P.C., Ferretti Barth, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), LeBreton, Losier-Cool, Oliver, Poy

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)