Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Wednesday, December 1, 2004 (in camera)
Wednesday, February 2, 2005 (in camera)
Tuesday, February 15, 2005

Issue No. 5

Second, third, fourth and fifth meetings on:

Mental health and mental illness

(Budget of the Committee)


Tuesday, February 15, 2005 — morning meeting

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health:

Diana Capponi.

As individuals:

Pat Capponi;

Darrell C. Powell.

Consumer /Survivor Information Resource Centre:

Helen Hook, Coordinator.

Panel: As individuals:

Norrah Whitney;

Carolyn Mayeur.

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health:

Betty Miller, Coordinator of the Family Council.

Tuesday, February 15, 2005 — afternoon meeting

Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care:

Carrie Hayward, Acting Director, Mental Health and Addiction Branch;

Doug Dixon, Senior Program Analyst, Mental Health and Addiction Branch.

Ontario Council of Alternative Businesses:

Becky McFarlane, Partnership Coordinator.

Empowerment Council:

Jennifer Chambers, Coordinator.

From The Dream Team:

Phillip Dufresne, Member;

Linda Chamberlain, Member;

Mark Shapiro, Member.

The Gerstein Centre:

Dr. Reva Gerstein, Founding Chair;

Paul Quinn, Director.

As an individuals

David Reville.

From the Heart Committee:

Douglas Millstone, Family Law Lawyer;

Patricia Commins, Retired Teacher;

Michael Flaxman, Volunteer.


Neil McQuaid;

Allan Strong, Resource Centre Coordinator, Self-Help Alliance;

Adrienne Magennis;

Richard Casey;

Graham Crushing;

Richard Smith;

Roslyn Durdy.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to the rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Morin retired from the Senate (November 28, 2004).

The name of the Honourable Senator Trenholme Counsell was added to the list of members (November 29, 2004).