Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Friday, December 8, 2006

Issue No. 13

Eighth meeting on:

The inquiry on the issue of funding for the treatment of autism


McGill University Health Centre:

Dr. Eric Fombonne, Director of Child Psychiatry.

Queen's University — Cytogenics and DNA Research Laboratory:

Dr. Jeanette Holden, Co-Director of Research.

McMaster University:

Dr. Peter Szatmari, Head of Division of Child Psychiatry.

Queen's University:

Hélène Ouellette-Kuntz, Associate Professor, Departments of Community Health and Epidemiology and Psychiatry.

University of Montreal:

Dr. Laurent Mottron, Researcher, Faculty of Medicine, Psychiatry.

Dalhousie University, Department of Pediatrics, Autism Research Centre:

Dr. Susan Bryson.

Université du Québec à Montréal:

Normand Giroux, Associate Professor.

Douglas Hospital Research Centre;

Dr. Ridha Joober, Researcher.

Hospital for Sick Children:

Dr. Stephen Scherer, Senior Scientist, Genetics and Genomic Biology.

University of Alberta — Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital:

Dr. Lonnie Zwaigenbaum.

University of Manitoba:

C.T. Yu, Director of Research, St-Amant Research Centre.

Autism Society Canada:

Louise Fleming, Executive Director.

Autism Canada Foundation:

Dr. Wendy Edwards, Director.

University of Manitoba:

Tammy Ivanco, Associate Professor of Psychology.

York University:

Adrienne Perry, Department of Psychology.

University of British Columbia:

Dr. Suzanne Lewis, Department of Medical Genetics, BC Children's and Women's Health Centre.

As individuals:

Barbara Beckett, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Institute of Mental Health and Addiction;

Laurel Gibbons.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., *Hays (or Fraser), *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Munson, Nancy Ruth, Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)