Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, October 17, 2006
Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Issue No. 8

Fourth and fifth meetings on:

The Government of Canada's Specific Claims policy


Tuesday, October 17, 2006

As an individual:

Wayne Nicholas, Member of Tobique First Nation.

Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs:

Debbie Abbott, Executive Director, Nlaka'Paumux Nation Tribal Council.

Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Sheila Fraser, Auditor General of Canada;

Ronnie Campbell, Assistant Auditor General;

Jerome Berthelette, Principal.

As a Panel:

Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations:

Chief Elaine Chicoose, Pasqua First Nation;

Jayme Benson, Director of Specific Claims.

Treaty & Aboriginal Rights Research Centre of Manitoba Inc.:

Chief Morris Shannacappo, Chairman;

Ralph Abramson, Director.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Campbell, Dyck, Gill, Gustafson, *Hays (or Fraser), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Segal, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Trenholme Counsell substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Campbell (October 12, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Campbell substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Trenholme Counsell (October 17, 2006).