Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12


Wednesday, May 9, 2012
Thursday, May 10, 2012

Issue No. 16

Eighth and ninth meetings on:

Study on prescription pharmaceuticals in Canada


Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Canadian Medical Association:

Dr. Maura Ricketts, Director, Health Policy and Research;

Millicent Toombs, Senior Policy Analyst, Health Policy and Research.

As individuals:

Dr. Stuart MacLeod, Professor, Child and Family Institute, University of British Columbia;

Dr. Robin Walker, Integrated Vice-President, Medical Affairs and Education, London Health Sciences Centre and St Joseph's Health Care.

Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations:

Dr. David Hill, Co-chair, Vice-Presidents of Health Research Group;

Tina Saryeddine, Assistant Vice-President, Research and Policy Analysis.


Thursday, May 10, 2012

As individuals:

Trudo Lemmens, Scholl Chair in Health Law and Policy, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto;

Françoise Baylis, Professor and Canada Research Chair, Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University;

Ann Silversides, Independent journalist, Health Policy.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Cordy *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Martin, Seidman, Seth, Verner, P.C., Wallace

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Seth replaced the Honourable Senator Rivard (May 10, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (May 9, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Seth (May 9, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Wallace replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (May 7, 2012).