Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14


Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Issue No. 3

Fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada


Wednesday, January 29, 2014

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Executive Chair.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Health Canada:

Ivy Chan, Director, Environmental Public Health Division, Interprofessional Advisory and Program Support, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Debra Gillis, Acting Director General, Interprofessional Advisory and Program Support, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Canadian Institutes of Health Research:

Nancy Edwards, Scientific Director, Institute of Population and Public Health;

Malcolm King, Scientific Director, Institute of Aboriginal Peoples' Health.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Michael Ferguson, Auditor General of Canada;

Jerome Berthelette, Assistant Auditor General;

Frank Barrett, Principal.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn (A-in-chut) Atleo, National Chief;

Glenn Hudson, Chief, Peguis First Nation, Manitoba;

Madeleine Paul, Chief, Eagle Village First Nation, Quebec.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Aboriginal Firefighters of Canada:

Arnold Lazare, Director;

Richard Kent, Secretary and Treasurer.

Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs:

John de Hooge, Fire Chief, Ottawa Fire Service.

National Research Council Canada:

Guy Gosselin, Director, Building Regulations, NRC Construction;

Philip Rizcallah, Manager, Canadian Codes Centre, NRC Construction.


The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, Champagne, P.C., *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan  (or Fraser), Dyck, Lovelace Nicholas, Meredith, Moore, Ngo, Raine, Sibbeston, Tannas, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (February 6, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (February 5, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (February 4, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Black (February 4, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas (February 4, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Black replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (February 3, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (December 11, 2013).