Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14


Tuesday, April 29, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Issue No. 6

First and second meetings on:

Subject matter of Bill C-33, An Act to establish a framework to enable First Nations control of elementary and secondary education and to provide for related funding and to make related amendments to the Indian Act and consequential amendments to other Acts


Eighth, ninth, tenth and eleventh meetings on:

The challenges and potential solutions relating to First Nations infrastructure on reserves


Tuesday, April 29, 2014

University of Regina:

Larry Steeves, Associate Professor, Faculty of Education.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Françoise Ducros, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector;

Chris Rainer, Director, Strategic Policy and Planning Directorate, Education Branch.

Department of Justice Canada:

Martin Reiher, Acting General Counsel and Director, Operations and Programs, Legal Services Unit.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat:

John G. Paul, Executive Director.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

As an individual:

Douglas Cardinal, Architect.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Prince Albert Grand Council:

Frank Bighead, Director, Technical Services;

Vincent Genereaux, Housing Advisor, Technical Services, Housing Department.

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Siksika Housing Administration:

Stewart Breaker, Service Area Manager.


The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Lovelace Nicholas, Meredith, Moore, Ngo, Runciman, Sibbeston, Tannas, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Runciman replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (May 27, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (May 27, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (May 26, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (May 26, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (May 15, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (May 2, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (April 28, 2014).