Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, February 23, 2016 (in camera)
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Issue No. 3

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


First, second and third meetings:

Study on best practices and on-going challenges relating to housing in First Nation and Inuit communities in Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the Northwest Territories


Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Stephen Van Dine, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Organization;

Allan MacDonald, Director General, Implementation Branch, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Elizabeth Logue, Director, Inuit Relations Directorate, Northern Affairs Organization.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Charles MacArthur, Senior Vice President, Regional Operations and Assisted Housing;

Duncan Hill, Manager, Housing Needs Research;

Luisa Atkinson, Director, First Nation Housing.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

National Aboriginal Economic Development Board:

Hilda Broomfield Letemplier, Member.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, Moore, Raine, Sibbeston, Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas (March 9, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (February 23, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (February 23, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Maltais (February 18, 2016).