Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Issue No. 7

Tenth, eleventh and twelfth meetings:

Study on best practices and on-going challenges relating to housing in First Nation and Inuit communities in Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the Northwest Territories


Tuesday, May 10, 2016

City of Iqaluit:

Madeleine Redfern, Mayor.

The Parliamentary Group:

Michael Dyment, CEO of Ltaa;

Marc Bourret, President of Ltaa;

Patrick Gagnon, Managing Partner of Parliamentary Group.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Qarjuit Youth Council:

Louisa Yeates, Vice President;

Olivia Ikey, Ungava Representative.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

As an individual:

Mylène Riva, Assistant Professor, Department of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Laval (by video conference).

Trevor Bell, University Research Professor, Geography Department, Memorial University of Newfoundland.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lovelace Nicholas, Moore, Oh, Raine, Sibbeston, Tannas

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (May 17, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 10, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Enverga (May 9, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (May 5, 2016).