Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Issue No. 21

Eighth and ninth meetings:
Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration)


Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Joëlle Montminy, Former Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs;

Martin Reiher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs;

Nathalie Nepton, Executive Director, Indian Registration and Integrated Program Management;

Candice St-Aubin, Executive Director, New Service Offerings, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector.

Assembly of First Nations:

Perry Bellegarde, National Chief.

Canadian Bar Association:

David Taylor, Executive Member, Aboriginal Law Section;

Gaylene Schellenberg, Staff Lawyer, Law Reform.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Dionne Schulze:

David Schulze, Counsel for the plaintiffs and for the intervenors the Council of Abenaki of Odanak and the Council of Abenaki of Wôlinak: Descheneaux v. Canada (Attorney General).

Women's Legal Education and Action Fund:

Kim Stanton, Legal Director.

As individuals:

Pamela D. Palmater, Associate Professor and Chair in Indigenous Governance, Ryerson University;

Sharon McIvor.

Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action:

Shelagh Day, Chair, Human Rights Committee and Co-Founder (by video conference).


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boniface, Doyle, Enverga, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lankin, P.C., Lovelace Nicholas, Martin, McPhedran, Pate, Sinclair, *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Christmas (May 10, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (May 9, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Oh was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (May 9, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (May 5, 2017).