Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Issue No. 23

Twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples


Thirteenth meeting:
Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration)

Special Study Budget (Indigenize the Senate Day)


Tuesday, May 30, 2017

As individuals:

William Wicken, Professor, Department of History;

Marie-Pierre Bousquet, Full Professor/Director, Indigenous Studies Program, University of Montreal.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

As an individual:

Miles Richardson, Director, National Consortium for Indigenous Economic Development (by video conference).

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

As individuals:

Jennifer O'Bomsawin;

Stephen Puskas;

Perry Kootenhayoo;

Holly Sock;

Modeste McKenzie;

Jacquelyn Cardinal;

Tiffany Monkman;

Andrea Andersen;

Chris Tait.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Christmas, Doyle, Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lovelace Nicholas, Martin, McPhedran, Mégie, Omidvar, Pate, Raine, Sinclair, *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Boniface (June 7, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (June 6, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Sinclair replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (June 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (May 31, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Mégie replaced the Honourable Senator Lankin, P.C. (May 29, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (May 18, 2017).