Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, June 13, 2017
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Issue No. 24

Fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples


Tuesday, June 13, 2017

As an individual:

Dalee Sambo Dorough, Associate Professor, Institute for Social & Economic Research, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Grand Council of the Cree (Eeyou Istchee):

Paul Joffe, Legal Counsel.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

As individuals:

Edward John, Grand Chief of Tl'azt'en Nation (by video conference);

Brenda Gunn, University of Manitoba.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Youth Ottawa:

Emma Buchanan, Coordinator, Ottawa Youth Engagement Committee;

Theland Kicknosway;

Daxton Rhead;

William Komaksiutiksak.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Boniface, Christmas, Doyle, Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lovelace Nicholas, Manning, McPhedran, Mégie, Pate, Raine, Sinclair,
        *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (June 15, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Sinclair replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (June 15, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (June 14, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (June 14, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (June 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (June 8, 2017).