Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 (in camera)
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 (in camera)

Issue No. 30

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)

Twenty-third, twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples

First meeting:
Bill C-61, An Act to give effect to the Anishinabek Nation Education Agreement and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


Tuesday, December 5, 2017

First Nations Major Projects Coalition:

Sharleen Gale, Chair, Fort Nelson First Nation;

Niilo Edwards, Executive Director;

Willie Blackwater, Director, Gitsegukla Band Council;

Jackie Thomas, Member, Saik'uz First Nation.

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Executive Chair.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Perry Billingsley, Asssociate Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Blake McLaughlin, Senior Director, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Murray Pridham, Senior Negotiator, Treaties and Aboriginal Government.

Department of Justice Canada:

Peter Coon, Legal Counsel.

Anishinabek Nation:

Glen Hare, Deputy Grand Chief.

Kinoomaadziwin Education Body:

Kelly Crawford, Director, Anishinabek Education System.

Chippewas of Rama First Nation:

Evelyn Ball, Education Body Board Director.

Biigtigong Nishnaabeg First Nation:

Lisa Michano-Courchene, Education Body Board Director.

Anishinabek Nation:

Tracey O'Donnell, Anishinabek Education Negotiator.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Scott Tannas, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boniface, Brazeau, Christmas, *Day (or Mercer), Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Lovelace Nicholas, Manning, McPhedran, Pate, Patterson, Raine, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (December 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Christmas replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (December 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Sinclair replaced the Honourable Senator Boniface (December 11, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Christmas (December 11, 2017).