Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 33 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 27, 2018

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 27, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 9:05 a.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Doyle, Lovelace Nicholas, McCallum, McPhedran, Ngo, Pate and Patterson (8).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Michael Chalupovitsch, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 13, 2018, the committee began its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to the Indigenous peoples of Canada.


Department of Indigenous Services Canada:

Valerie Gideon, Acting Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Department of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Sheilagh Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development.

Health Canada:

Eric Costen, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Cannabis Legalization and Regulation Branch.

Department of Justice Canada:

Diane Labelle, General Counsel;

Stefan Matiation, Director and General Counsel.

Public Safety Canada:

Trevor Bhupsingh, Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate.

The clerk informed the committee of the unavoidable absence of the chair and deputy chair and presided over the election of an acting chair.

The Honourable Senator Pate moved:

That the Honourable Senator Patterson be the acting chair.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

The acting chair took the chair.

The acting chair made a statement.

Ms. Gideon, Ms. Murphy, and Mr. Costen made a statement and, together with Ms. Labelle, Mr. Matiation, and Mr. Bhupsingh, answered questions.

At 10:32 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer
Clerk of the Committee