Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 33 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 28, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 28, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 6:48 p.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Christmas, Coyle, Doyle, Dyck, Lovelace Nicholas, McCallum, McPhedran, Pate, Patterson and Tannas (10).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Michael Chalupovitsch, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Síofra McAllister, Communications Officer, Senate Communications Directorate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 13, 2018, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to the Indigenous peoples of Canada.


First Nations Tax Commission:

C.T. (Manny) Jules, Chief Commissioner.

Indigenous Peoples Cannabis Association:

Bill Robinson, Executive Director.

Oneida Nation of the Thames:

Randall Phillips, Chief.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Jules, Mr. Robinson, and Mr. Phillips made statements and answered questions.

At 7:48 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:58 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 8:47 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer
Clerk of the Committee