Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Friday, March 23, 2018

Issue No. 34

Thirtieth and thirty-first meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples


Friday, March23, 2018 (morning)

Manitoba Association of Friendship Centres:

Roberta MacKinnon, President;

Ryan Paradis, Executive Director.

Manitoba Inuit Association:

Fred Ford, President and Board Chair;

Rachel Dutton, Executive Director.

Youth Parliament of Manitoba:

Adrienne Tessier, Premier;

Garry McLean, Elder.

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation:

Ry Moran, Director.

Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre:

Damon Johnston, Board Member.

Friday, March23, 2018 (afternoon)

Manitoba Metis Federation:

Jack Park, Minister, Energy and Infrastructure.

As individuals:

Dr.Catherine Cook, Vice Dean, Indigenous Health, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences and Head, Ongomiizwin, Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing, University of Manitoba;

Melanie MacKinnon, Executive Director, Ongomiizwin Health Services, University of Manitoba;

Dr.Ian Whetter, Medical Lead, Ongomiizwin Health Services, University of Manitoba.

Manitoba Advocate for Children and Youth:

Daphne Penrose, Children's Advocate;

Ainsley Krone, Children's Advocate.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Scott Tannas, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boniface, Christmas, *Day (or Mercer), Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Lovelace Nicholas, McCallum, McPhedran, Ngo, Pate, Patterson, Raine, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Coyle (March1, 2018).