Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Thursday, June 10, 2021


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 30, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day by videoconference at 9:02 a.m. [ET], the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Carignan, P.C., Cordy, Cotter, Galvez, Massicotte, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Patterson, Richards, Simons, and Verner, P.C. (12).

Participating in the meeting: Barbara Reynolds and Vincent Labrosse, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on June 2, 2021, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-12, An Act respecting transparency and accountability in Canada’s efforts to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2050.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Aaron Henry, Senior Director, Natural Resources and Sustainable Growth.

As individuals:

Corinne Le Quéré, Professor, Climate Change Science, University of East Anglia;

David Wright, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary;

Joy Agnew, Director, Applied Research, Centre of Innovation, Olds College.

Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council:

Judith Sayers, President.

Indigenous Climate Action:

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger, Executive Director.

Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation:

Dana Tizya-Tramm, Chief.

Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec:

Denis Bolduc, Secretary General.

Climate Action Network Canada:

Caroline Brouillette, Policy Analyst.

Nature United:

Amanda Reed, Director of Strategic Partnerships.


Joyce Hall, Co-chair.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Henry, Ms. Le Quéré and Mr. Wright each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:56 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:58 a.m., the committee resumed.

It was agreed that Chief Tizya-Tramm who was appearing from Old Crow, Yukon, be permitted to participate in the meeting using an IPhone without video.

Ms. Sayers, Ms. Deranger and Chief Tizya-Tramm each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:54 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11 a.m., the Honourable Senator Black (Alberta) replaced the Honourable Senator Richards as a member of the committee.

At 11:10 a.m., the Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Anderson as a member of the committee.

At 2:17 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Bolduc, Ms. Brouillette and Ms. Reed each made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:03 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:06 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Agnew and Ms. Hall each made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Chantal Cardinal

Clerk of the Committee