Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Friday, June 11, 2021


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 30, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day by videoconference at 12:02 p.m. [ET], the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Anderson, Black (Alberta), Carignan, P.C., Cotter, Galvez, Massicotte, Miville-Dechêne, Patterson, Simons, Verner, P.C., and Woo (11).

Participating in the meeting: Barbara Reynolds and Vincent Labrosse, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on June 2, 2021, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-12, An Act respecting transparency and accountability in Canada’s efforts to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2050.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

International Energy Agency:

Christophe McGlade, Head of Energy Supply Unit.

As an individual:

Paul Fauteux, Attorney and accredited mediator and arbitrator.

Quebec Environmental Law Centre:

Anne-Sophie Doré, Lawyer;

Christopher Campbell-Duruflé, Lawyer, doctoral student and member of the legal committee.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. McGlade, Mr. Fauteux, Ms. Doré and Mr. Campbell-Duruflé each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:04, the committee suspended.

At 1:06, the committee resumed in camera, pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), to consider a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members present or by the committee analysts; and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 1:50 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Chantal Cardinal

Clerk of the Committee