Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Monday, December 13, 2004

Issue No. 3

First meeting on:

The rights and freedoms of children


As individuals:

Nicholas Bala, Professor;

Jeffery Wilson, Counsel;

Maryellen Symons, Counsel.

Canadian Coalition for the Rights of Children:

Tara Ashtakala, Acting Coordinator.

National Children's Alliance:

Dianne Bascombe, Executive Director.

Child Welfare League of Canada:

Peter M.Dudding, Executive Director.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Landon Pearson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Carstairs, P.C., Ferretti Barth, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), Le Breton, Losier-Cool, Oliver, Poy

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Ferretti Barth substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Chaput (December7, 2004).