Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Issue No. 10

Fourth meeting:

Study on the federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples


Seventeenth meeting:

Study on best practices and on-going challenges relating to housing in First Nation and Inuit communities in Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the Northwest Territories

(Border Crossing Issues and the Jay Treaty)


Tuesday, June 21, 2016

As an individual:

Caitlin Tolley, Kitigan-Zibi, Quebec;

Tenille McDougall, Fort Macleod, Alberta;

Willie Sellars, Williams Lake, British Columbia;

Maatalii Okalik, Panniqtuuq (Pangnirtung), Nunavut;

Kluane Adamek, Whitehorse, Yukon;

Justin "Jah'kota'' Holness, Winnipeg, Manitoba;

Kelly Duquette, Atikokan, Ontario;

Katelyn LaCroix, Penetanguishene, Ontario;

Jenna Burke, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island;

Mitch Case, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario;

Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, Iqaluit, Nunavut;

Shelby Angalik, Arviat, Nunavut.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Stephen Van Dine, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Organization;

Allan MacDonald, Director General, Implementation Branch, Treaties and Aboriginal Government.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Charlie MacArthur, Senior Vice-President, Regional Operations and Assisted Housing;

Carla Staresina, Vice President, Affordable Housing;

Luisa Atkinson, Director, First Nations Housing.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lovelace Nicholas, Martin, Meredith, Moore, Oh, Raine, Sinclair, Tannas

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (June 15, 2016).