Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Issue No. 27

Twenty-first and twenty-second meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples


Tuesday, October 17, 2017

As an individual:

Val Napoleon, Law Foundation Chair of Aboriginal Justice and Governance and Director of Indigenous Law Research Unit, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

As individuals:

Howard Sapers;

Scott Serson, former Deputy Minister, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boniface, Christmas, Doyle, Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lovelace Nicholas, Manning, McPhedran, Mégie, Omidvar, Pate, Raine, *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (October 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Doyle replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (October 10, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Doyle (October 3, 2017).