Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Issue No. 36

Fourth and fifth meetings:
The subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to the Indigenous peoples of Canada


The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, P.C., M.P., Minister of Health
Bill Blair, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and to the Minister of Health


Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Tsuut'ina Nation Police Service:

Steve Burton, Inspector, Criminal Investigative Psychologist.

As an individual:

The Honourable Senator Dennis Glen Patterson.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Health Canada:

Eric Costen, Director General, Cannabis Legalization and Regulation Secretariat.

Department of Justice Canada:

Diane Labelle, General Counsel;

Stefan Matiation, Director and General Counsel.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Scott Tannas, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boniface, Christmas, *Day (or Mercer)

Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Lovelace Nicholas, Martin, McPhedran, Ngo, Pate, Patterson, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (April 16, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Deacon replaced the Honourable Senator McCallum (April 16, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Pate replaced the Honourable Senator Deacon (March 27, 2018).