Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Issue No. 44

Forty-third and forty-fourth meetings:
Study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples


Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Canadian Roots Exchange:

Max FineDay, Executive Director.

Land Claims Agreements Coalition:

Eva Clayton, Co-Chair of LCAC and President, Nisga'a Lisims Government;

Aluki Kotierk, Co-Chair of LCAC and President, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated;

Les Doiron, Member of LCAC and President, Ucluelet First Nation;

Alastair Campbell, Senior Policy Advisor, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated;

Micah Clark, Legal Counsel, Nisga'a Lisims Government.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Executive Chair;

Mark Podlasly, Director of Governance;

Dana Soonias, Board Director.

First Nations Tax Commission:

C.T. (Manny) Jules, Chief Commissioner.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Scott Tannas, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Christmas, Coyle, *Day (or Mercer), Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Lovelace Nicholas, McCallum, McPhedran, Ngo, Pate, Patterson, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Coyle was added to the membership (October 5, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Boniface was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (October 5, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Boyer (October 4, 2018).