Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Consideration of matters relating to the Ethics and Conflict of Interest Code for Senators
2020-12-03
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 at 5:06 PM
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 5:03 PM
Monday, March 29, 2021 at 2:19 PM
Monday, March 22, 2021 at 2:01 PM
  • Pierre Legault, Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
  • Deborah Palumbo, Assistant Senate Ethics Officer and General Counsel (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Monday, March 15, 2021 at 2:05 PM
Monday, March 8, 2021 at 2:02 PM
Monday, March 1, 2021 at 2:07 PM
Friday, February 19, 2021 at 9:14 AM
Friday, February 5, 2021 at 12:17 PM
Monday, January 25, 2021 at 10:01 AM
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness