Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12


Wednesday, February 15, 2012
Thursday, February 16, 2012 (in camera)
Wednesday, February 29, 2012 (in camera)
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
Thursday, March 8, 2012

Issue No. 11

Seventeenth and eighteenth meetings on:
Examining the progress in implementing the 2004 10-Year Plan to Strengthen Health Care

Second, third and fourth meetings on:
Study on social inclusion and cohesion in Canada


Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Canadian Council on Social Development:

Peggy Taillon, President & CEO;

Katherine Scott, Vice-President, Research.

Canadian Urban Transit Association:

Alain Mercier, Board Member.

As individuals:

Caroline Andrew, Director, Centre on Governance, University of Ottawa;

Sandeep Kumar Agrawal, Graduate Program Director, School of Urban and Regional Planning, Ryerson University.

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Metro Toronto Chinese & Southeast Asian Legal Clinic:

Avvy Go, Director.

Council of Canadians with Disabilities:

Tony Dolan, Chairperson;

Vangelis Nikias, Project Manager.

Seniors For Seniors:

Peter Cook, President.

International Institute for Child Rights and Development:

Natasha Blanchet-Cohen, Assistant Professor.

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Chief Dale McFee, President.

Public Safety Canada:

Daniel Sansfaçon, Director, Policy, Research and Evaluation, National Crime Prevention Centre.

Statistics Canada:

Julie McAuley, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

John Turner, Chief of Analysis, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Mia Dauvergne, Senior Analyst, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Canadian Resource Centre for Victims of Crime:

Heidi Illingworth, Executive Director.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C. (or Carignan), Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, *LeBreton, P.C., Martin, Merchant, Seidman, Seth, Verner, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Rivard (February 16, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Comeau (February 16, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (February 16, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Comeau replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (February 15, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (February 15, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (February 9, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Merchant replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (February 9, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Day (February 9, 2012).