Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14


Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 (in camera)
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Issue No. 8

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings on:

The challenges and potential solutions relating to First Nations infrastructure on reserves

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill C-428, An Act to amend the Indian Act (publication of by-laws) and to provide for its replacement


Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


Monday, September 15, 2014 (morning meeting)

Temagami First Nation:

Elizabeth (Liz) Potts, Housing Coordinator.

Mishkeegogamang First Nation:

Connie Gray-McKay, Chief;

Donna Roundhead, Mental Health Counsellor.

Lac Seul First Nation:

Basil Goodchild, Housing Manager.

Eagle Lake First Nation:

Arnold Gardner, Chief.

Constance Lake First Nation:

Charles Baxter Sr., Housing Manager.

Monday, September 15, 2014 (afternoon meeting)

As an individual:

Bryan Poulin, Associate Professor, Lakehead University.

Wasagamack First Nation:

Alex McDougall, Chief.

Attawapiskat First Nation:

Theresa Spence, Chief;

Katherine Hensel, Counsel;

Monique Sutherland, Housing Manager;

Wayne Turner, Executive Director.

Kasabonika Lake First Nation:

Mike Morris, Councillor.

Muskrat Dam First Nation:

Gordon Beardy, Chief.

Nishnawbe Aski First Nation:

Les Louttit, Deputy Grand Chief;

Charmaine McCraw, Economic and Resource Development Unit Manager.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Rob Clarke, M.P., sponsor of the bill;

Georganne Burke, Director, Indigenous Outreach, Office of Rob Clarke, M.P.

Board of St. Kateri Catholic School:

Dorine Rabbit, Chair;

Wallace Manyfingers, Member.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Assembly of First Nations:

Stuart Wuttke, Legal Counsel;

Valerie Richer, Associate Legal Counsel.

An an individual:

Guy Lonechild.

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Betty Ann Lavallée, National Chief.

First Nation Tax Commission:

C.T. (Manny), Chief Commissioner.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

An an individual:

Ian Peach, Consultant (by videoconference).

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Joe Wild, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Nathalie Nepton, Director, Governance Policy and Implementation Directorate, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Line Paré, Director General, Settlement Agreement Operations, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector;

Kris Johnson, Senior Director, Lands Modernization, Lands and Economic Development Sector;

Chris Rainer, Director, Strategic Policy and Planning Directorate — Education Branch, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector.

Department of Justice Canada:

Martin Reiher, Acting General Counsel and Acting Director.


The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Enverga, Lovelace Nicholas, Moore, Ngo, Raine, Tannas, Wallace, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (September 30, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (September 29, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (September 25, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (September 23, 2014).

The Honourable Senator McIntyre replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (September 23, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (September 12, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Baker, P.C. (June 17, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan was removed from the membership of the committee, replacement pending (June 17, 2014).